Welcome! An Introduction to Aplastic Anemia

Greetings and welcome to my great writing adventure!

I have to admit, until now I never considered writing a blog.  While I am a fan of many blogs, I couldn’t get myself and my thoughts together well enough to construct anything I figured would be interesting to anyone besides, well, me.  I find myself endlessly fascinating, but I am under no illusion that anyone else would think so.

After receiving my diagnosis of Severe Aplastic Anemia in January 2011, I spent quite a lot of time on the internet looking for personal journals or blogs by people living with this disease.  Unfortunately, since the illness is so rare, (3 cases per million people, or 900 new cases in the US every year), there aren’t many first-hand accounts available to those of us living with or caring for warriors of AA.  Mostly, what I found was just plain scary.

After hemming and hawing, I finally concluded that I should start a blog.  My mission with this journal is to provide help, support, and positivity to other people living with Dis-Ease (especially bone marrow failure disorders and autoimmune conditions).  I want to be candid and realistic about my own experiences thus far, but I also want to make it clear that life goes on, hope springs eternal, and while Aplastic Anemia is scary, it is CURABLE!!

Two days ago, I was using Skype with my dear friend, Shane, who told me his partner had been sick with the flu.  “He’s finally on the road to recovery, though,” he said.  “At least someone is,” I replied disdainfully.  “Oh, you’re on the road to recovery.  It’s just a looooong road and you’re hitchhiking and the sun is beating down on you and there aren’t any cars in sight.  But, at least you’re on the road!”  And he’s right.

Coming soon:  The obligatory tale of my history thus far with Aplastic Anemia and the facts/figures of the disease.  I promise to try and make it interesting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lawrence
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 14:56:30

    Great! Can’t wait to read more and learn what you’ve been going through and more about the disease. Keeping my fingers crossed you’ll be sprung shortly! ~ Julie

    Reply

  2. Dawnzo
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 14:59:48

    I think this blog is a FANTASTIC idea and a great read for not only others struggling with aplastic anemia, but all your friends and family who are rooting for you. Rock on, Katherine! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 15:15:56

    Go girl
    So very proud … Informing people about this is awesome!!!
    Yay yay yay xxx

    Reply

  4. Dr b
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 08:27:12

    Stay strong

    Reply

  5. Denise Carlin
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:13:31

    Rock on, girl! Keepin’ up your strength and your style, I see! xo, D

    Reply

  6. Shelly Shenoy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 19:14:00

    I will read every post. You’re clearly not the only one that finds you endlessly fascinating. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

