Bone Marrow Transplant: Day -6 and Day -5

And so it begins!  I am in the hospital and have started my conditioning regimen for my transplant next week.  My first chemo drug, Fludarabine, will be administered a little later today.  At the moment I am receiving two units of blood, as my hemoglobin dipped down to 5.7.

Yesterday – admitting day, I had 20 (!) vials of blood drawn and received a new PICC line.  I now have three little valves that stick out of my left arm.  I like to think of it as a little three-headed snake.  The PICC site is very sore and swollen, since they had to give me a whole new incision, and it took two of them to find a good vein for the line.  At least it’s in now, and will hopefully be the last PICC line I ever have!!

I am doing well spirits-wise.  I felt a little overwhelmed last night from stress, and there were a few tears.  Nothing too terrible, but this transplant has been a long time coming and there are a lot of emotions coming to the surface now.  Luckily, it’s nothing I can’t handle, and today I feel content and calm – albeit sleep deprived.  I have settled into my room, which is very nice (I switched to a better room after I got up to my unit), and I have put up pictures, posters, and streamers.  I am relaxed and ready.  Nearly two days down, four to go!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lawrence
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 14:02:26

    I’m thinking about ya! And sending you good vibes and love. Let us know when (or if) we can come and visit you or if you need anything. ~ Julie

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 12:25:52

    Emotions will be all over the place but you have folk from all over the world routing for ya! take pride in your positivity – its been known to beat the odds time and time again. Rest too, not too much writing young lady xx Karen in UK

    Reply

Leave a Reply

